Holy Fuck!

Today I went to find God.

I heard he is out there somewhere panhandling for change on Western Avenue.

All I could find was sadness.

Today I went to find God.

I heard he might be in an Old Town bar slugging down his last dollar’s beer.

All I could find was sickness.

Today I went to find God.

I heard he was on a street corner in Boys Town promising love.

All I could find was loneliness.

Today I went to find God.

And I began to doubt he was ever there.

So, I jumped out of an airplane to see that I’d fall,

But I flew.

With great wings of plastic.

Falling with a sinking stomach,

red-faced, and forgetting to breath.

Floating on the clouds.

Gliding back down, gently, to the ground.

And, I know why the little bird sings his sweet song.

Now, maybe I might sing a sweet tune, too.

Holy, FUCK!

Holy, Indeed!

Leave a comment

Filed under Original Work

Tell me what you think!

