When I Grow Up

When I was 16, I wanted to be an adult.
When I was 18, I wanted to be a doctor.
When I was 21, I wanted to be drunk.
When I was 25, I wanted to be a therapist.
When I was 26, I just didn’t want to be broke.
When I was 27, I wanted to be in love.
When I was 28, I wanted to be an artist, a transient poet, a writer.
I am 28 now.
I make plastic.
I have not gown up.
I despise hospitals and the healthcare system.
I am mostly sober, except when I’m not.
I need a therapist.
I am still broke.
I don’t want to be in love anymore.
I am still working on the writing skills.

2 Comments

Filed under Original Work

2 responses to “When I Grow Up

  1. haha, great summary! I am 29, and can add I don’t want my mortgage 😉

Tell me what you think!

